IND vs Aus Final 2023: Know World Cup Winners List 1975 to 2023

Rate this post

You can guess the IND vs Aus Final 2023 by knowing about ICC ODI World Cup Winners List 1975 to 2019.

The winners of the ICC ODI Cricket World Cup from 1975 to 2019 show how different teams have been successful over the years.

At first, West Indies was dominant, then India’s win in 1983 changed things.

Australia became a strong team in the late 20th and early 21st centuries, winning several times. Pakistan and Sri Lanka surprised everyone by winning in 1992 and 1996.

In the 21st century, there were tough competitions. Australia was strong initially, but India won in 2011, ending a long wait.

Australia came back to win in 2015, and England won a thrilling final in 2019. The list highlights the ups and downs, making the ICC Cricket World Cup history interesting and diverse.

Now we can add ICC ODI World Cup Winners List 1975 to 2023 after knowing the final result of India vs Australia on 16th November 2023.

India vs Australia Final 2023 Overview

On Sunday, 19 November, India and Australia go head-to-head in the highly anticipated ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup final at the magnificent Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Rewriting history from the 2003 final, the stadium, boasting a staggering 132,000 capacity, promises an electric atmosphere with over 100,000 fans expected.

India, dominant in the group stage, aims for its first major ICC global tournament win in 12 years, fueled by the home crowd’s fervor. Meanwhile, Australia, the tournament’s most successful nation, eyes a remarkable sixth title.

India owned the group stage, winning all nine matches and gathering a flawless 18 points. Their net run rate of 2.570 was the group’s top-notch.

In the semi-final clash with New Zealand, the trio of Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, and Virat Kohli sparkled, driving India to a massive total of 397 and sealing their spot in the final.

Australia recovered from early defeats to India and South Africa, winning seven consecutive matches to qualify with 14 points.

In the semi-final against South Africa, a strong start and key contributions from David Miller led to a tense three-wicket victory.

Cricket World Cup Winners (1975-2023)

YearHost CountryWinnerCaptainRunner-upResult
1975EnglandWest IndiesClive LloydAustraliaWest Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest IndiesClive LloydEnglandWest Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndiaKapil DevWest IndiesIndia won by 43 runs
1987India and PakistanAustraliaAllan BorderEnglandAustralia won by 7 runs
1992Australia and New ZealandPakistanImran KhanEnglandPakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan and IndiaSri LankaArjuna RanatungaAustraliaSri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustraliaSteve WaughPakistanAustralia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustraliaRicky PontingIndiaAustralia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustraliaRicky PontingSri LankaAustralia won by 53 runs
2011India and BangladeshIndiaMS DhoniSri LankaIndia won by 6 wickets
2015Australia and New ZealandAustraliaMichael ClarkeNew ZealandAustralia won by 7 wickets
2019England and WalesEnglandEoin MorganNew ZealandThe match tied after regular play and a super over; England won on a boundary count

India’s Cricket World Cup Performance (1975-2023)

The highlight was in 1983 when India won first-ever World Cup under Kapil Dev.

Since then, they’ve had strong performances, reaching semi-finals and becoming runners-up in 2003. Captains like Kapil Dev, Sourav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid, and MS Dhoni led the team with their own styles.

The 2011 World Cup win under Dhoni was a big moment. Despite facing challenges, like a tough loss in the 2019 semi-final, India remains a strong team globally.

Now tomorrow 16th November 2023, India will play against Australia for ODI Men’s World Cup 2023

1975Group StageS. Venkataraghavan
1979Semi-FinalS. VenkataraghavanEnglandLost in the Semi-Final
1983ChampionsKapil DevWest IndiesIndia won by 43 runs
1987Semi-FinalKapil DevEnglandLost in the Semi-Final
1992Round Robin ExitMohammad Azharuddin
1996Semi-FinalMohammad AzharuddinSri LankaLost in the Semi-Final
1999Super Six ExitSourav GangulyPakistan
2003Runners-upSourav GangulyAustraliaLost in the Final
2007Group StageRahul Dravid
2011ChampionsMS DhoniSri LankaIndia won by 6 wickets
2015Semi-FinalMS DhoniAustraliaLost in the Semi-Final
2019Semi-FinalVirat KohliNew ZealandLost in the Semi-Final; The match tied, but England won on a boundary count

The Most Winning Team Of ODI Cricket World Cup (List)

Australia stands as the most successful team with five victories, while New Zealand has yet to secure a title. England, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and West Indies have each claimed at least one ODI World Cup.

TeamNumber of ODI World Cup WonYears of ODI World Cup Won
Australia51987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
India21983, 2011
New Zealand0
Sri Lanka11996
West Indies21975, 1979

ICC ODI World Cup Winners List 1975 to 2019

YearWinner CountryRunner-up Country
1975West IndiesAustralia
1979West IndiesEngland
1983IndiaWest Indies
1996Sri LankaAustralia
2007AustraliaSri Lanka
2011IndiaSri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew Zealand
2019EnglandNew Zealand

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List 1975 to 2023 with Result

The Men’s 50-over ODI Cricket World Cup victors from 1975 to 2023 include Australia as the most successful team with 5 wins. India and West Indies have each won twice, while England secured their first victory in 2019.

YearWinner CountryRunner-up CountryResult
1975West IndiesAustraliaWest Indies won by 17 runs
1979West IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 92 runs
1983IndiaWest IndiesIndia won by 43 runs
1987AustraliaEnglandAustralia won by 7 runs
1992PakistanEnglandPakistan won by 22 runs
1996Sri LankaAustraliaSri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999AustraliaPakistanAustralia won by 8 wickets
2003AustraliaIndiaAustralia won by 125 runs
2007AustraliaSri LankaAustralia won by 53 runs
2011IndiaSri LankaIndia won by 6 wickets
2015AustraliaNew ZealandAustralia won by 7 wickets
2019EnglandNew ZealandThe match tied after regular play and a super over; England won on a boundary count

ICC World Cup Winner Team and Captains

1975West IndiesClive LloydAustralia
1979West IndiesClive LloydEngland
1983IndiaKapil DevWest Indies
1987AustraliaAllan BorderEngland
1992PakistanImran KhanEngland
1996Sri LankaArjuna RanatungaAustralia
1999AustraliaSteve WaughPakistan
2003AustraliaRicky PontingIndia
2007AustraliaRicky PontingSri Lanka
2011IndiaMS DhoniSri Lanka
2015AustraliaMichael ClarkeNew Zealand
2019EnglandEoin MorganNew Zealand

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top